On the First Day of Christmas, My True Love Gave to Me

December 1, 2010 at 5:43 PM Leave a comment

It’s in the air (thanks to afternoon rains), the cool breeze of December has finally graced the country. As I have mentioned in my other blog over and over, Christmas is my ultimate favourite holiday. I feel extremely happy whenever this time comes. The excitement.. The anticipation.. Everything feels great. I am high! I can’t define what brings the bliss but I seem to find good in everything– even if it means having empty pockets, squeezing through crowded sweaty body masses, and lining up long hours at the cashier. The things I hate eventually become part of the things I love whenever it’s Christmas.

However, I am a tad disenchanted to be celebrating the entire Christmas season in Singapore. Because unlike the Philippines (with exception to Orchard Road, the malls, and the main thoroughfares), not all streets of Singapore are covered with colourful displays, dancing lights, and multi-sized Santas prancing to the melody of the Jingle Bell Rock. In my beloved country, I can see the creative efforts of Pinoys to dress their houses up with the little means they have.  For most Pinoys, Christmas brings a sense of hope that at least for one day, one week, or one month, we are all happy.

Another thing I will miss is the company of friends whom I love so dearly. Christmas is usually the time for reunions and get-togethers. A time that everyone sets aside to tell each other a year’s worth of stories and/or reminisce the good ‘ol days over a good meal complemented by wine and dessert. [Not to mention the gifts I would be getting from them if I were home. =p] But this year, I will be survived by new friends who will also be staying and celebrating Christmas expat-style. Old memories would have to give way for new ones, at least for the mean time.

And oh, there will be Simbang Gabi’s. Not that I have ever completed one but the traditional Simbang Gabi here is celebrated every 8PM. Literally, gabi. The good thing is, I now have a fighting chance of completing the Simbang Gabi and wish for something. Though I am not sure if my fellow Pinoys who are organizing the masses will be serving the holiday favourites bibingka and puto bumbong. I just hope they will.

But then again, I am most favoured by my family’s decision to fly here and celebrate Christmas in Singapore with me and Giselle. We might be away from most of the people we love but as long as we’re together (and can skype with Gracee and Bong), nothing in this world can drive these good vibes out!!

I truly looooove loooooove you Christmas! You give me immeasurable joy!

Entry filed under: Life in General, Living in Singapore. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Presenting.. The Singapore Men’s Water Polo Team ‘Simbang Gabi’ in Singapore 2010


This is a slice of my life. Live it or Leave it.

December 2010
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other subscribers

Feeds