The Lion King Singapore

May 24, 2011 at 7:34 PM 2 comments

The Lion King is my all-time favourite Disney animated film and watching the musical at the Marina Bay Sands Theatre came with a very high expectation.

The production is undoubtedly one of the grandest I have seen but this theatre roar seemed to have missed the “fwar” factor.

Could it be the audio quality that didn’t give justice to the songs and the performers? I don’t claim to flaunt a sophisticated ear but even the cinemas are investing on heart pumping audio, why can’t they? Or if they did, my commoner ears did not sense it.

Or could it be the stage design that lacked the grandeur? Except for the creative backdrop execution, the overall set design subdued my “woah.” The mini Lion King show I’ve seen in Disneyland years back was even better in terms of set design.

These are just two things that needed improvement. On the bright side, the actors deserved a standing ovation. They were great (and definitely convincing). I had a wonderful time reliving my childhood for three hours. In fact, I cured my Lion King hangover by watching the animated film for the nth time the day after.

Btw, young Simba and Nala were portrayed by Pinoy kids.. Nice!

20110524-025254.jpg

Entry filed under: Living in Singapore. Tags: , , .

FoodEx: Beaming Beancurd How hot is it in Singapore?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. pinoyleonardo  |  May 25, 2011 at 12:31 PM

    Surely this must be an expensive entertainment 🙂 I’d like to watch this someday. I guess watching a clip in Disneyland is enough for now.

    Reply
  • 2. The Grecian  |  June 13, 2011 at 9:21 AM

    Actually, the Lion King we watched in Vegas wasn’t as spectacular as well. I thought it was overrated. There weren’t enough colors, and props, and animal characters. I’m glad I watched it, but it’s not something I’d spend money on to watch again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


This is a slice of my life. Live it or Leave it.

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

Feeds


